Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Wellness Home
Background
Pledge for Wellness
National Wellness Week
Eight Dimensions of Wellness
Wellness Training
Partners, Champions & Collaborators
Wellness Tools
Resources
Contact Us

National Wellness
Week 2014

September 15–21

Get on the map »

Sign up to receive Wellness Updates.







Connect with SAMHSA

Stay in touch with SAMHSA and receive updates on social media!

Facebook Twitter
SAMHSA ADS Center


Last Updated: 1/30/2014

To view or print a PDF you need to download free Adobe Reader software.

SAMHSA'S Wellness Initiative Roster

Go to: Culture and Inclusion Subcommittee | Research and Evaluation Subcommittee

Steering Committee

Meghan Caughey, MA, MFA
Senior Director
Peer and Wellness Services
Cascadia Behavioral Health
Portland , OR 97232
meghan.caughey@cascadiabhc.org
Cathy Cave
Founding Partner
Unlimited Mindfulness Consulting
Delmar, NY
cathycave@verizon.net
Beckie Child, MSW
Executive Director
Mental Health America of Oregon
Director
Peerlink National Technical Assistance Center
Portland, OR
beckie.child@gmail.com
Mary Ellen Copeland, PhD
Founder
Copeland Center for Wellness and Recovery
WRAP and Recovery Books
West Dummerston, VT
maryellen@svcable.net
Juliet Dorris-Williams, LISW-S
Executive Director
The P.E.E.R. Center 
Columbus, OH
jdorris-williams@thepeercenter.org
Benjamin G. Druss, MD, MPH
Rosalynn Carter Chair in Mental Health
Rollins School of Public Health
Emory University
Atlanta, GA
bdruss@emory.edu
Laura Galbreath, MPP
Director of Health Integration and Wellness Promotion
National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare
Washington, DC
LauraG@thenationalcouncil.org
Steve Hornberger, MSW
Independent Consultant
Silver Spring, MD 20910
sdh9726@gmail.com
Dori S. Hutchinson, ScD, LRC
Director of Services
Center for Psychiatric Rehabilitation
Boston University
Boston, MA
dorih@bu.edu
Lyn Legere
Director of Lifelong Learning
The Transformation Center
Roxbury, MA
LynL@transformation-center.org
Ron Manderscheid, PhD
Executive Director
National Association of County Behavioral Health
and Developmental Disability Directors
Washington, DC
rmanderscheid@nacbhd.org
Mimi Martinez McKay, MA, MLIS
Chief of Staff/Information Services Director
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services
Texas Department of State Health Services
Austin, TX
mimi.mckay@dshs.state.tx.us
Keris Jän Myrick, MBA, PhD.c
President and CEO
Project Return Peer Support Network
Commerce, CA
keris@prpsn.org
Joseph Parks, MD
Medical Director
Missouri Department of Mental Health
Jefferson City, MO
Joe.parks@dmh.mo.gov
Ruth Perou, Ph.D.
Acting CDC Mental Health Coordinator
Program Performance and Evaluation Office
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA
rperou@cdc.gov
Joe Powell, LCDC, CAS
Executive Director
Association of Persons Affected by Addiction
Dallas, TX
Joep2722@aol.com
Can Truong
Director, NAAPIEN (National Asian American Pacific Islander Empowerment Network)
Consultant, Can Empowerment Group
canconsulting@gmail.com
Clarke Ross, DPA
Policy Associate, American Association on Health and Disability
Principal, Policy in Context Consulting
Crofton, MD
clarkeross10@comcast.net
Carlton Whitmore
Assistant Director
Office of Consumer Affairs
NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
Queens, New York
cwhitmo1@health.nyc.gov
Sherry Jenkins Tucker
Executive Director
Georgia Mental Health Consumer Network
Decatur, GA
sjtucker@gmhcn.org
Betty Vreeland, APN.C, PMHCNS-BC,
ANP-BC

Advanced Practice Nurse
University Behavioral HealthCare
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey
Monmouth Junction, NJ
vreelael@umdnj.edu
Jane Winterling
Grant and Education Director
Vermont Psychiatric Survivors
Guilford, VT
janew7@comcast.net
   

back to top

Culture and Inclusion Subcommittee

Co-Chair Cathy Cave
Founding Partner
Unlimited Mindfulness Consulting
Delmar, NY
cathycave@verizon.net
Co-Chair Linford Gayle
Director
Office of Consumer and Family Affairs
Behavioral Health and Recovery Services
San Mateo County
San Mateo, CA
linford_gayle@hotmail.com
Kinike Bermudez
Consumer Advocate
Program Manager
Dallas Metrocare Services
Arlington, TX
kinikebermudez1@yahoo.com
Katy Castro
Executive Director
DBSA—Fundación Aliada Contra
Bipolaridad y Depresión
San Juan, PR
dbsa.fabid.pr@gmail.com
Donald Clark, Deacon
Director
Faith Share
United Advocates for Children and Families
Northern California Conference,
Seventh Day Adventist Church
Sacramento, CA
deaconclark_don@aol.com
Jen Constantine
President
South Dakota United for Hope and Recovery
Rapid City, SD
peerhelper@gmx.com
Deborah Delman
Executive Director
The Transformation Center
Roxbury, MA
deborahd@transformation-center.org
Juliet Dorris-Williams, LISW-S
Executive Director
The P.E.E.R. Center 
Columbus, OH
jdorris-williams@thepeercenter.org
A’ishah Hils
Independent Consultant
National Youth Leadership Network
Virginia Organization of Consumers
Asserting Leadership, Inc. (VOCAL, Inc.)
Lawrence, KS
aishah@riseup.net
Nelson Jim
Director
Cultural Competence and Client Relations
San Francisco Department of Public Health
San Francisco, CA
nelson.jim@sfdph.org
Jeffrey King, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
Center for Cross-Cultural Research and
First Nations Behavioral Health Association
Western Washington University
Bellingham, WA
Jeffrey.King@wwu.edu
Mary O’Shea, BA, MED
Taskforce Peer Support Access Coordinator
for the Deaf/Hard of Hearing
The Transformation Center
Roxbury, MA
maryoshea63@comcast.net
maryoshea63@gmail.com
Gayathri Ramprasad, MBA, CPS
Founder and President
ASHA International
Portland, OR
gayathri@myasha.org
Diane Squires
Founder
Boston Deaf Arts Group
Weymouth, MA
dsquires2@sprint.blackberry.net
Carlton Whitmore
Assistant Director
Office of Consumer Affairs
NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
Queens, New York
cwhitmo1@health.nyc.gov
Charles Willis
Certified WRAP Facilitator
Georgia Mental Health Consumer Network
Hampton, GA
cbw@gmhcn.org
   

back to top

Research and Evaluation Subcommittee

Co-Chair Keris Jän Myrick, MBA, PhD.c
President and CEO
Project Return Peer Support Network
Commerce, CA
keris@prpsn.org
Co-Chair Ron Manderscheid, PhD
Executive Director
National Association of County
Behavioral Health and Developmental
Disability Directors
Washington, DC
rmanderscheid@nacbhd.org
Dolores BigFoot, PhD
Associate Professor
Clinical Child Psychology
Project Making Medicine
Center on Child Abuse and Neglect
Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Oklahoma City, OK
dee-bigfoot@ouhsc.edu
Jean Campbell, PhD
Research Associate Professor
Missouri Institute of Mental Health
St. Louis, MO
jean.campbell@mimh.edu
Meghan Caughey, MA, MFA
Senior Director
Peer and Wellness Services
Cascadia Behavioral Health
Portland , OR 97232
meghan.caughey@cascadiabhc.org
Jonathan Delman, PhD, JD
Associate Director
Transitions to Adulthood Research and Training Center
Dept. of Psychiatry
University of Massachusetts
Worcester, MA
jdelman@ReservoirCG.org
Benjamin G. Druss, MD, MPH
Rosalynn Carter Chair in Mental Health
Rollins School of Public Health
Emory University
Atlanta, GA
bdruss@emory.edu
Rebecca Hines, MHS
Chief
Health Promotions Statistics Branch
National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Hyattsville, MD
vgh4@cdc.gov
Rosemarie Kobau, MPH, MAPP
Public Health Advisor
Division of Adult and Community Health
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA
rkobau@cdc.gov
Lyn Legere
Director of Lifelong Learning
The Transformation Center
Roxbury, MA
LynL@transformation-center.org
Emmeline Ochiai
Public Health Advisor
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion
US Department of Health and Human Services
Rockville, MD
240–453–8259
Emmeline.Ochiai@hhs.gov
Laysha Ostrow, MPP
Pre-doctoral Training Fellow
National Institutes of Mental Health Services Research
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, MD
lostrow@jhsph.edu
Rebecca Palpant, MS
Assistant Director
Rosalynn Carter Fellowships for Mental Health Journalism
Carter Center Mental Health Program
Atlanta, GA
rpalpan@emory.edu
Laurie Pratt, PhD
Psychiatric Epidemiologist
National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Hyattsville, MD
lpratt@cdc.gov
Clarke Ross, DPA
Policy Associate, American Association on Health and Disability
Principal, Policy in Context Consulting
Crofton, MD
clarkeross10@comcast.net
Margaret (Peggy) Swarbrick, PhD, OTR, CPRP
Director of the Institute for Wellness and Recovery Initiatives
Collaborative Support Programs of New Jersey
Freehold, NJ
pswarbrick@cspnj.org
Geri Tebo, RN, BSN, MA
Public Health Advisor
Office of Disease Prevention and Health Prevention
US Department of Health and Human Services
Rockville, MD
geri.tebo@hhs.gov
 

back to top

This Web site was developed under contract with the Office of Consumer Affairs in SAMHSA’s Center for Mental Health Services. The views, opinions, and content provided
on this Web site do not necessarily reflect the views, opinions, or policies of SAMHSA or HHS. The resources listed in this Web site are not all-inclusive and inclusion on this Web site
does not constitute an endorsement by SAMHSA or HHS.